Panamericana: on a trip around the world with the expedition vehicle

World trip with expedition vehicle: With our self-built expedition vehicle we start the Panamericana from Alaska to Patagonia. Why now? What will await us?

Yes, we have a thousand questions in our heads. Is it the right decision to hold on to our plans? Is it a journey into the unknown? Nobody can answer these questions for us. Not even ourselves. At least not until we have dared it. Hence the die is cast; We will make our dream come true, and we will do it now. Otherwise we will never know if it was the right decision.

When you decide on a certain date after years of planning, it is difficult to let go. Many other commitments have prevented us from starting earlier. Patiently, we have repeatedly agreed to the end of 2020. Now everything is ready; our expedition mobile as good as finished, our apartment handed over already two months ago, job quit by the end of the year. We cannot and do not want to wait any longer. Who knows what comes after Corona? There is no such thing as the right time. Or maybe it is exactly right now?

Traveling despite Corona can also have its advantages if you are willing to be flexible enough. Maybe it is precisely that what excites us: not knowing where our path will lead us in the following months. In addition, life in Switzerland under corona conditions offers little joy of life now – another reason why we are drawn into a new adventure. Then there are empty tourist attractions and deserted beaches. Who would not want that as a traveler? Since the lack of tourism is a hard blow for many countries, it can be argued whether traveling during Corona is good or bad. The way we travel – self-sufficient and away from urban areas – does not bear the danger of endangering others. On the contrary, in Switzerland we are probably a greater risk for our fellow human beings.

Therefore, we will see where our way leads us and hope for many beautiful moments.

Howis-Web: Panamericana
Howis-Web: Panamericana

With Patreon you have the possibility to support our video project, to get additional material like Behind the Scenes and Real Time Updates or just to say thank you. You can find a small sample of additional videos below. Our Patreon-Account.

Linda & Sandro

JOIN US ON OUR ROADTRIP panamericana

World Tour 2021: Our Route

The route recording shown below deliberately does not correspond 100% to the route travelled. Places to stay and stopovers are not visible on the map. We are happy to provide details of regions and pitches if required. For more information, we would be happy if you could join us on our Patreon account. .

Howis-Web: Panamericana
Artlist Music
Traveliki

Vehicle

You want to know how our vehicle originated? The long way from the fire truck to the expedition vehicle “Whaly” is documented here. From the choice of vehicle to cabin construction and interior design. Have fun!

Travel Report Spain

Due to Corona, our world tour will take us through Europe for the time being starting in 2021. But whether France or Spain, we are positively surprised! Also you can find here the travel reports of our world trip Asia & Australia from 2008 – 2011.

Preparations

Planning a long-term trip with your own vehicle? The planning effort behind this should not be underestimated. You can find our information about finances, deregistration, insurances, health and much more here.

Equipment

Whether mountain bike, camera or camping gear; there are some useful things which should not be missing. What material we travel with and what we can recommend, you can find out here.

On the road

Tips and tricks about vanlife, border formalities, budget, GPS tracks for download and much more. You can read about the challenges we face on the road and how we solve them here.

COUNTRIES

DAYS

Expeditionvehicle Whaly

KILOMETER

Sunrise in Murcia
Sunrise_Andalusia

© Howis-web

Panamericana: mit dem Expeditionsmobil auf Weltreise

Mit unserem Epexiditonsmobil “Whaly” starten wir unsere Weltreise mit dem Ziel der Panamericana-Route. Warum gerade jetzt? Was wird uns erwarten?

Ja, uns schwirren tausend Fragen im Kopf herum. Ist es die richtige Entscheidung, unseren Plan durchzuziehen? Ist es eine Reise ins Ungewisse? Diese Fragen kann uns niemand beantworten. Nicht einmal wir selber. Zumindest nicht, bevor wir es nicht gewagt haben. Daher sind die Würfel gefallen; Wir werden unseren Traum verwirklichen, und zwar jetzt. Ansonsten werden wir nie erfahren, ob es die richtige Entscheidung war.

Wenn man sich nach jahrelanger Planung auf einen Termin festlegt, fällt es schwer, davon loszuzulassen. Viele andere Verpflichtungen haben uns davon abgehalten, früher zu starten. Geduldig haben wir uns immer wieder auf Ende 2020 geeinigt. Nun ist alles bereit; unser Expeditionsmobil so gut wie fertig, die Wohnung bereits vor zwei Monaten abgegeben, Job gekündigt. Länger warten wollen und können wir nicht. Wer weiss schon, was nach Corona kommt? Den richtigen Zeitpunkt gibt es nicht. Oder vielleicht ist dieser auch genau jetzt?

Reisen trotz Corona kann auch seine Vorteile haben, solange man bereit dazu ist, genügend Flexibilität walten zu lassen. Möglicherweise ist es auch gerade das, was uns reizt: Nicht zu wissen, wohin uns unser Weg in den nächsten Monaten führt. Zudem bietet das Leben in der Schweiz unter Corona-Bedingungen im Moment wenig Lebensfreude – auch dies ein Grund weshalb es uns in ein neues Abenteuer zieht. Hinzu kommen leere Touristenattraktionen und verlassene Strände. Wer wünscht sich das nicht als Reisender? Da der fehlende Tourismus für viele Länder ein harter Schlag ist, lässt sich darüber streiten, ob Reisen während Corona nun gut oder schlecht ist. Die Art und Weise wie wir reisen – autark und abseits der städtischen Gebiete – birgt nicht die Gefahr, andere zu gefährden. Im Gegenteil; in der Schweiz sind wir wahrscheinlich ein grösseres Risiko für unsere Mitmenschen.

Daher; wir werden sehen wohin unser Weg uns führt und hoffen auf viele schöne Momente.

Howis-Web: Panamericana
Howis-Web: Panamericana

Mit Patreon hast du die Möglichkeit, unser Video-Projekt zu unterstützen, Zusatzmaterial wie Behind the Scenes und Real Time Updates zu erhalten oder einfach Danke zu sagen. Ein kleines Beispiel an Zusatzvideos findest du unten. Unser Patreon-Account.

Linda & Sandro

BEGLEITE UNS BEI UNSEREM ROADTRIP panamericana

Weltreise 2021: Unsere Route 

Die dargestellte Routenaufzeichnung entspricht bewusst nicht 100% der gefahrenen Strecke. Übernachtungsplätze und Zwischenstopps sind in der Karte nicht ersichtlich. Gerne geben wir bei Bedarf Details zu Regionen und Stellplätzen an. Für mehr Informationen Informationen würden wir uns freuen, wenn Ihr auf unserem Patreon-Account reinschauen würdet.

Howis-Web: Panamericana
Artlist Music
Traveliki

Fahrzeug

Du möchtest wissen, wie unser Fahrzeug entstanden ist? Den langen Weg vom Feuerwehrfahrzeug zum Expeditionsmobil “Whaly” findest du hier dokumentiert. Von der Fahrzeugwahl über Kabinenaufbau bis zum Innenausbau. Viel Spass!

Reiseberichte

Aufgrund Corona führt uns unsere Weltreise ab 2021 vorläufig durch Europa. Doch ob Frankreich oder Spanien,  wir sind positiv  überrascht! Ebenfalls findest du hier die Reiseberichte unserer Weltreise Asien & Australien von 2008 – 2011.

Vorbereitungen

Du planst eine Langzeitreise mit einem eigenen Fahrzeug? Der Planungsaufwand dahinter ist nicht zu unterschätzen. Unsere Informationen zum Thema Finanzen, Abmelden, Versicherungen, Gesundheit und vieles mehr findest du hier.

Ausrüstung

Ob Mountainbike-Material, Kameraausrüstung oder Campingmaterial; es gibt einige nützliche Dinge, welche nicht fehlen sollten. Mit welchem Material wir reisen und was wir empfehlen können, erfährst du hier.

Unterwegs

Tipps und Tricks zum Thema Vanlife, Grenzformalitägen, Budget, GPS-Tracks zum Download und vieles mehr. Mit welchen Herausforderungen wir unterwegs kämpfen und wie wir diese lösen, erfährst du hier.

LÄNDER

TAGE

Expeditionsmobil Whaly

KILOMETER

Sunrise in Murcia
Sonnenaufgang_Andalusien